How To: Beauty Retouch

I was looking through Sara Lando’s blog, after reading her guest blog post on Tracy Zhang’s blog (link love galore!). I don’t understand a word she’s saying but I absolutely adore her work. The reason I bring it up, aside from she’s fantastic and you must check her out, is that I spotted this video tutorial on her blog and I thought I’d share it with you.

Yes, it is a make up tutorial and not a photoshop one, but it is a beauty retouch nonetheless. I was watching it when I realized, I retouch photos very much in the same way. I like to keep things simple and as much as possible – keep skin looking like skin. I’m not a make up artist but here’s my “photographer’s perspective” on it.

The first thing she does, is to even out the skin tone. She’s getting rid of the redness in the skin and makes sure every thing looks balanced. Getting the color the way you want it in your photos can make a world of difference.

Then, she brightens up the eyes by getting rid of the dark circles underneath and highlighting the areas around it. This is my favorite way to perk up any face (and image) instantly.

And finally, she tackles the blemishes. Applying very little make up and going slowly to cover up all the problem skin while still making sure everything is blended. I achieve the same effect by using a soft brush with the opacity lowered wayyyyy down and using a tablet to control pressure. What I’m going for is subtlety, I don’t want my models to look retouched, I just want to help their natural beauty shine through. Remember: Natural = good.

So that’s what I think.

Another thing I thought of was, you’ve just watched a make up tutorial and all you can think of is photo editing. And that’s just a little sad.

x,

Jack

Leave a Reply

