Singapore: The Zoo part I

All the times I’ve been to Singapore I’ve never been to the Zoo. So for this trip I made it a must-see, and let me tell you, it did not disappoint! One of the highlights of our trip. You can tell how much fun I had because I took a butt-load of photos. My way of saying you can expect a few more animal themed posts in the near future.

The zoo is a bit of a ways away so leave early, we left our hotel at around 8:00 and got to the zoo a little past 9. Take the MRT to Ang Mo Kio and from there take the number 138 bus that’ll will drop you off right at the zoo. Once there ask for a map with the animals feeding schedules and various shows they have prepared, then just plan accordingly.

Enjoy!

Jack

Macaws at the Singapore Zoo

Macaws

White Faced Saki Monkey at the Singapore Zoo

White Faced Saki Monkey

Aside from a breathtaking view of this massive lake they also had a gorgeous orchid garden. A great place to stop and recuperate in between all your exploring.

Orchids at the Singapore Zoo

Orchids at the Singapore Zoo

Orchids at the Singapore Zoo

Water Lilies at the singapore Zoo

Giraffes at the Singapore Zoo

Giraffes

Giraffes at the Singapore Zoo

Giraffes

Giraffes at the Singapore Zoo

Yes, yes that is pee.

Meerkat at the Singapore Zoo

It’s a meerkat! You know, Timon.

Meerkat at the Singapore Zoo

whatcha lookin’ for little meerkat?

Meerkat at the Singapore Zoo

What’s over there?

Desert Warthog at the Singapore Zoo

Oh no way! it’s Pumba!

I nearly lost it when I saw they placed the meerkats next to the desert warthogs. It’s Timon and Pumba! haha someone definitely had a healthy sense of humor when they thought this up.

Zebras at the Singapore Zoo

Zebras

Deer at the Singapore Zoo

Deer

Deer at the Singapore Zoo

Crane at the Singapore Zoo

Crane

15 thoughts on “Singapore: The Zoo part I

  1. We love going to the audubon zoo. The atomosphere is always great for families. There animals all look very healthy, happy, and well maintained. I have taken my family several times and each time we enjoy it. There is also great deals if you do the Zoo & Aquarium together.

  2. Hi, I’ve done several zoo checks on this zoo. One of the best in Asia, but in some areas it still falls short sadly. Just a quick question about the meerkat, was he still completely on his own, or have they given him some more pit mates? Would love it if you could let me know! Thanks!

    • When I was there he was on his own. But we weren’t in that area very long so its possible there were others we just didnt see. :)

  3. I am a fan of The Lion King and seeing real Timon and Pumba in these photos made my day! :) they should have placed the lion near to them. Haha!

  4. oh, I Love meer cats!!! :-) They’ve always got at least one guy on guard duty, looking for danger. Your top photo of the meer cat is spectacular to anything I’ve ever taken at zoos! :-) Exquisite photos!

Leave a Reply

